You Probably Get That A Lot

by James Classen

Sheesh, people! Does everything have to be one? It’d almost be a relief to see a movie that had a definitive ending. Prometheus is at least getting a sequel, which is bad enough. But it has now been confirmed: The Hobbit will be a trilogy. Despite my rant mere sentences ago, this doesn’t dampen my excitement at the films. I will be at the theatre with everyone else to follow Bilbo’s unexpected journey.

And the IOC is waving its big stick again. Not only could I get in trouble (fined, sued, something like that) for using the phrases “Olympics”, “London 2012”, “Olympian” (the name of a newspaper in Washington, which has been operating since seven years prior to the first modern games), showing five interlocking rings, or symbols that in any way resemble the rings in any color, taking a photo of a venue, heck, the IOC has even claimed to own trademarks on the names of the athletes! However, they reluctantly allowed certain radio broadcasts from the BBC which were coming from the Olympic village to be available worldwide, because the majority of those broadcasts were not dedicated to coverage of the games themselves. Friggin’ ridiculous.

The fragmentation of the Android ecosystem is not exactly news. My current phone has Ice Cream Sandwich, and I’m pondering upgrading to Jellybean over the weekend. But the last phone I had officially got nothing more than Froyo (I eventually installed Gingerbread on it myself), and it had Eclair when I bought it. Especially due to Verizon’s locking of the bootloader, my phone will likely be among the last of the Galaxy S III devices to see an official Jellybean build. And it’s doubtful I’ll see an official build of Key Lime Pie for my phone, though as soon as CM11 has a stable build for me, I’m sure I’ll be installing it. But for most Android customers, the latest build that exists when your device comes out will be the latest build you ever get. Apple customers, on the other hand, will get every update to their operating system. If that update slows their device to a crawl, they have the option of downgrading and turning off updates (as I understand), but they don’t suffer from a carrier’s choke-hold quite like the rest of us.

